Mr. Henrik W. Bindner
Head of Research Group at Center for Electrical Power and Energy (DTU)

Mr. Henrik W. Bindner is currently a Senior scientist and the Head of Research Group at Center for Electrical Power and Energy (CEE) at DTU. His research focus has been in the area of renewable energy integration. In recent years this has mainly involved flexible consumption, active distribution grids, dynamic and supervisory control of large portfolios of flexible consumption units and the associated ICT infrastructure. He has been one of the main drivers in the development of the research facility SYSLAB at DTU that is particularly designed to support research in distributed/decentralized control and ICT infrastructures. He has been a main contributor, during his research, to the design and development of a simulation tool designed to be capable of simulation of the supervisory control impact on a multi-energy system. H. Bindner has been involved in a large number of national and European projects and has been the PI in several of them in the areas of RE integration and smart grids. Some of these projects are: FlexCom (ForskEl), SmoothPV (ForskEl), SmartPlan (ForskEl), Characterization of Vanadium batteries (ForskEl), ‘Self-organising distributed control of a distributed energy system with a high penetration of renewable energy’ (DSF), Modular for of Rural Electrification (Danish Embassy South Africa), FlexPower (ForskEl), DERlab (EU, DG research). He is currently the PI of the large Danish project iPower (Innovationsfonden) focusing on flexible consumption from user involvement to market integration. He has been participating in the EERA Smart GRid Joint Programme since its beginning and he is currently a sub-programme leader as well as WP leader of the derived EU project ELECTRA. He has been supervisor of several PhD projects in the area of smart grids including 6 ongoing. Overall, he has more than 50 publications in peer-reviewed journals, conferences, and book chapters in the field. Finally, he is a member of scientific committees in the field including EWEC (2006-9), International Conference on PV-Hybrid Systems and Mini-Grids (2010, 2012, 2014), Nordic Wind Power Conference (2006, 2007, 2009), and Board member of the Wind Energy Institute of Canada (2007-2012).